Prairie Home Companion

So, I’m not actually a senior citizen, but sometimes I act like one, like when I listen to A Prairie Home Companion. That show is just so funny to me and I love the music. So David heard that they were coming to do a show in Abilene and got tickets for us to go see it. Since he doesn’t really care for the show (he only tolerates it because I like it so much), this was extra-nice of him.

We went to the show and had a great time. My camera battery ran out before the end of the show, so I wasn’t able to take as many pictures as I would’ve liked, but that’s ok with me. I got a “POEM” T-shirt (Professional Organizationof English Majors) and we went out to Sonic afterwards.

The program included this little column that I really liked, so I thought I’d share it here as well. It’s a regular column on PHC’s website called “The View from Mrs. Sundberg’s Window.”

“Listened to the show Saturday and it was not bad. I’s been a long stretch of days without much sun, and the rain came down in patches most of the weekend. It’s that time of year again, the ol’ switcheroo, when summer gives it on up to autmn and everything takes a step forward. Not long before the cold air hits, and that’s what I’m looking forward to — cold weather, and everything that comes with it. Bonfires and hot chocolate and extra blankets and starry nights. Bring it on. Bring it all on, icicles and snow included.

“I know it’s healthy and all to live in the moment, and I do, for the most part, but I’ve always enjoyed having something to look forward to. It gives you something to think upon if you’re waiting for dessert or a bus, and the string of all those good things kind of carries you through life. A crappy day is somehoe made nicer when you have a dinner party to look forward to, and a root canal isn’t such an ordeal if you can think about your upcoming trip to Yuma.
“Seems, though, there are people who aren’t as interested in where they’re going as in where they’ve been. Not that this is a bad thing. They simply enjoy reminiscing and reliving experiences again and again by watching videos or looking at photos and telling the stories. Part of the purpose of going somewhere or doing something is so that, at some point, the experience can be shared. These people carry maps; these people have gear.

“I’m all for the gear peopple and the scrapbooking memory-people. I’ll even admit to a bit of envy. I’m just not one of them. I have a camera but I’d rather not risk the moment ot look for it. The perfect shot rarely presents itself and I’m a clumsy woman. I enjoy taking photos, but where on Planet Earth would I find time to cut, paste, label and trim? I’d much rather be out doing something that might be photographed and scrapbooked. Like that 12-hour Tramping for the Hooters trampoline fundraiser for the nature center owl refuge I did in August with Mr. Sundberg. Or serving chili over at the Boy Scout camp one autumn. Or building snowmen. Riding the Ferris wheel at the Winter Carnival. Skating with the kids. Gathering rosebuds. all of which I look forward to.”

Wanna see pics? Try to view them here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=63588&id=500823168&ref=mf. Let me know if that link doesn’t work.

2 thoughts on “Prairie Home Companion

  1. We’re jealous too! We love that show. Of course, I had never heard of it until I married Ethan… I guess he’s a senior citizen at heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

