TRP: Prospero Lost

Prospero Lost (Prospero’s Daughter #1) by L. Jagi Lamplighter
$7.99 Mass Market Paperback edition, but I read it in hardback from the library
Goodreads rating: 5/5 stars

First, don’t you wish your last name were Lamplighter, or something equally awesome? I do. Jagi is pretty amazing, too.

Second, I cannot say enough good things about this book. This author is just incredibly clever and creative. I love this book so much that I’m actually eaten up with jealousy because I didn’t write it.  This book picks up 500-ish years after the ending of The Tempest. Turns out that Prospero and Miranda are (basically) immortal, as are all the rest of Prospero’s children (born after The Tempest, natch).  I could go on and explain everything to you, but I’m not going to because I think it would take away some of the fun of reading it. This is more than just Shakespeare fanfic. This book breathes new life into an already fascinating story. Told from Miranda’s point of view (that’s her on the cover; there’s a reason her hair is white, and it’s not because of age) in our era, Lamplighter’s book contains magic, mystery, broken hearts and romance, delightful and terrifying characters, and frustrating family dynamics. Italics in all-caps would not be enough to express the extent of my fangirly joy. I am waiting breathlessly for Aug. 17, when the sequel comes out. Please believe that this book is good for reasons that I am clearly too biased to explain. If you love Shakespeare, Milton, or fantasy, you need to read this book.

Leave a Reply

