Robert Frost

Robert Frost

A couple of commenters on the previous post mentioned that Robert Frost is their favorite poet, so I thought I’d post one of his poems today. I’m a big fan of Frost as well. In fact, I didn’t really understand, much less enjoy, poetry until I took a seminar devoted to Frost during my last semester of my undergrad studies. If you aren’t comfortable with much poetry, Frost is a good place to start.

Speaking of favorite poems, I just ran across the Favorite Poem Project this morning. Check it out. I thought the video of the fifth grader reading Rilke adorable, and the soldier reading Yeats was very moving.  Check it out! Maybe it will remind you of some other poems you like.

Don’t forget to vote in the poll! Now, Robert Frost:

Blue-Butterfly Day

It is blue-butterfly day here in spring,
And with these sky-flakes down in flurry on flurry
There is more unmixed color on the wing
Than flowers will show for days unless they hurry.

 But these are flowers that fly and all but sing:
And now from having ridden out desire
They lie closed over in the wind and cling
Where wheels have freshly sliced the April mire.

(P.S. For a worthwhile but slightly insulting take on “The Road Less Traveled,” check out this short article by John Kilgore.)

2 thoughts on “Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

