A Poem for Palm Sunday

G.K. Chesterton was more than a poet, but I love this little poem. It asks us to think about the symbolism of the donkey, and is absolutely appropriate for today. Enjoy! For more on Chesterton, who actually might be one of the best novelists you’ve never heard of, check out the American Chesterton Society’s (biased and hyperbolic) website.

G.K. Chesterton. Among other things, he was very tall.

The Donkey

When fishes flew and forests walked,
And figs grew upon thorn,
Some moment when the moon was blood,
Then surely I was born.

With monstrous head and sickening cry,
And ears like errant wings,
The devil’s walking parody
Of all four-footed things.

The tattered outlaw of the earth,
Of ancient, crooked will;
Starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb,
I keep my secret still.

Fools! For I also had my hour;
One far fierce hours and sweet:
There was a shout about my ears,
And palms before my feet.

Leave a Reply

