Another Short Poem

This really is aimed at children.

Relatively speaking, anyway, because Kim is more likely to read the whole thing if it’s short. 🙂 I love e.e. cummings, and I know many people who love this poem. If I’m going to be honest, I have to say this poems creeps me out a little. I’ll tell you why after you’ve read it. Or you could just scroll down to the end. Enjoy!

in Just-
spring               when the world is mud-
luscious the little
lame balloonman

whistles              far              and wee
and eddieandbill come
running from marbles and
piracies and it’s
spring

when the world is puddle-wonderful

the queer
old balloonman whistles
far            and              wee
and bettyandisbel come dancing

from hop-scotch and jump-rope and

it’s
spring
and

          the

                     goat-footed

balloonMan            whistles
far
and
wee

***********
Did you enjoy that? Did you like the puddle-wonderfulness and the mud-luscious-osity? Me too. But you know what creeps me out? The balloonman, who starts out as lame, then becomes queer, and ends up goat-footed. Why is he goat-footed, folks?  *shivers* Spring is a wild time for wild creatures, but I’m just saying. Creepy. What do you think?

One thought on “Another Short Poem

  1. You’re right! I did read it! And you made me laugh! Always a good thing… I feel so dumb right now. I want to say something insightful and/or clever but poetry just leaves me speechless (a tough thing to do!).

Leave a Reply

