What to Read During a Hurricane

I live in New Jersey, so with Hurricane Irene bearing down on this weekend, and the very real prospect of a week or more without power, part of my preparations included gathering together books I would want to read while waiting for the power to come back on. (We ended up being totally fine, by the way, but we didn’t know that on Friday and Saturday.) Here is the list I came up with. What would you read?

I don't know what hurricane this picture is from, but it sure looks frightening, doesn't it?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Mostly because I took the “Don’t Panic” slogan and the advice to always carry a towel to heart this weekend. It was basically my hurricane mantra. Also, this book is hilarious. I should confess that I have a sort of six-in-one edition of this book, so the entire Hitchhiker’s series blends together for me. Some are better than others, but all are a nice distraction from a hurricane.

Under the Dome by Stephen King
Because these people have it waaaaay worse than I do. I’ve talked about this book before, and it’s the only novel of his I own, but I think probably anything he’s written would work just fine.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
This is my favorite in the Harry Potter series. Lots happens in it that matters, and even though Harry is kind of, you know, teenager-y, he loses a lot of the whiny brat stuff that showed up in numbers 3 & 4. It’s a meaty book.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Because it’s the end of things, but also the beginning of others.

The Waste Land by T.S. Eliot
For obvious reasons, don’t you think? The thunder over Himnavant, the waiting for rain, the voice of God in the storm… And though Eliot’s waste land is a desert, the possible destructive power of Irene had me thinking about broken lands.

This was my short list. What I actually ended up reading was Let the Great World Spin, which is great and totally appropriate for 24 hours of big, fat rain.

Wishing you all an uneventful week.

3 thoughts on “What to Read During a Hurricane

  1. I think Order of the Phoenix is my favorite HP book too. I’ve been meaning to reread them all, but just haven’t made that happen yet. Glad you were OK through the storm!

  2. I continued working my way back through the Hunger Games trilogy (working out a paper idea). It seemed appropriate, especially after my power went out.

Leave a Reply

