The Thing with Feathers

Fly, from Silver Horse Photography. Click the picture to visit the etsy shop!

Man, I get so tired of Great Literature being So Depressing. Here’s something (arguably) encouraging from Emily Dickinson. It might even be appropriate for this time of year, with Easter being in just a few days and all. Question: What gives you hope when you are tempted to despair?

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

3 thoughts on “The Thing with Feathers

  1. That’s a great question. I’ve actually been studying about hope in my scripture study as of late… I think hope varies from day to day and situation to situation for me. I think friendship gives me more hope than anything.

  2. I think that thinking of the future and what CAN be is what gives me hope. That sounds like Becky’s answer, but I don’t mean the eternities of eternities (although that does give me hope) but the future in my life. I know that even if parts of it are terrible, there will be parts full of incandescent joy. Ryan’s graduation, welcoming a child into our family, feeling forgiveness, watching those that I love make good decisions. All of those small things make it much easier for me to wait for the ultimate and eternal joy.

Leave a Reply

