Jane Fonda Reads Poetry

Jane Fonda and her dog Tulea. This photo comes from her website. It seemed more flattering than most of what turned up in Google images.

Today’s poem was recommended by Jane Fonda in The Poem I Turn To: Actors & Directors Present Poetry That Inspires ThemEven if you don’t like Jane Fonda, you will probably like this poem. Think of it this way: now you’ll have something to talk to Jane Fonda about next time you see her.

Contest Question of the Day: Who’s your favorite actor?

Moving Forward
by Rainer Maria Rilke
trans. Robert Bly

The deep parts of my life pour onward,
as if the river shores were opening out.
It seems that things are more like me now,
that I can see farther into paintings.
I feel closer to what language can’t reach.
With my sense, as with birds, I climb
into the windy heaven, out of the oak,
and in the ponds broken off from the sky
my feeling sinks, as if standing on fishes.

One thought on “Jane Fonda Reads Poetry

  1. Ethan and I were discussing favorite actors recently and I wasn’t sure how to really choose one, I decided the best way to make a decision is to look at my favorite movies and go from there… well, Nicholas Cage wins because he is in some really awesome films!

Leave a Reply

