NaNoWriMo prompt 7

Prompt: Cold weather or hot weather? Discuss.

 

Susan’s thoughts: I just finished reading Alif the Unseen, and I have to say, it was amazing. The author manages to educate her readers while allowing the essential foreignness of Alif’s experience remain in tact– and by “foreignness,” I mean his interactions with mythical creatures as well as his own perception of himself as Other, and, naturally, most Americans’ (mine included) inescapably colonist reading of him as Other. Really brilliant work. Makes me wish I knew more about everything in the whole wide world. Loved the questions it raises about belief and reality. If I think of anything more intelligent to say about it, I’ll post a longer blog entry about it– but I doubt I’ll be able to. It’s a book that merits re-reading.

Leave a Reply

