NaNoWriMo prompt 19

Today is “Giving Tuesday,” a day that encourages us to give back after the presumed wild consumerist excesses of the previous weekend, a new American Mardi Gras in negative. I like the idea of this day, but it strikes me that “Giving Tuesday” should have happened last Thursday, during Thanksgiving. In my mind, gratitude leads naturally to service. Apparently this is not the case for everyone, though. I also think that charitable works shouldn’t be left to one or two days a year, but should be a way of life. But I guess we all have to start somewhere. I certainly think it’s a great idea to give money to build wells or schools, to combat preventable diseases in nations with less access to healthcare, to encourage literacy and education, particularly among girls. I’m not against giving money. I just think there’s more to giving than money, and more days than one on which we should give. So I hope you did something for “Giving Tuesday,” but even more, I hope you do something everyday. That’s one of my personal goals, to build charity into my life more organically, to reach out to the people around me right where I am, and do what I can to make their lives easier and to share the spirit of love with them. So this little rant is my writing to the day. Thanks for reading.

Today’s prompt: What’s the best gift you’ve ever been given? What’s the best gift you’ve ever given?

Leave a Reply

