Super September Reading!

Did you like what you read in August? Most people who read The Rosie Project really enjoyed it. The Elegance of a Hedgehog was, by and large, too dense for casual reading. Vampires in the Lemon Grove seemed to be unsettling to the readers who bothered to say anything. I think it managed to be both quirky AND serious, which is a rare combination. Short stories since Raymond Carver do tend towards a lack of resolution and ambiguity. Short stories don’t worry about making their protagonists likeable or their situations relatable, by and large. Anyway, I can see why it’s not to every reader’s taste. (All of that is crap. Read a better response to Vampires in the Lemon Grove here.) I really enjoyed all three books, and it was nice to get to read it with others and chat briefly about it, even in a sort of shallow, facebook-only way.

So here’s what I’d like to read in September. (I know there are a few days left in August. I’m not trying to rush you. Take all the August you want. I just want to have this available for when you’re ready to admit the summer is over and it’s time to enjoy fall. And read more books– possibly while enjoying something pumpkin-flavored.) Just like with last month, I haven’t read any of these, so I can’t vouch for their quality, readability, or lack of swear words. Enjoy at your own risk.

Attachments: A Novel by Rainbow Rowell

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Leave a Reply

