Long ago I heard footsteps

I really want to say things about this poem, but I think if I say things, I will give away “the turn.” So here is a poem. Meet me in the comments and we’ll talk.

Long ago I heard footsteps
by Miriam Bird Greenberg

Long ago I heard footsteps
come to the door, and a man

knocking. We’ve had an accident

up on the road, can you help
he pled at the unanswered door,

and kept knocking.

He might have been a thief
but soon enough a woman’s howl

lit up the night, and I put a knife
in my belt. Around dawn

I figured their fortunes
might be worth change.

 

Leave a Reply

